Board of Management - S.N. Réalt na Mara, Rosses Point

Go to content

Board of Management

Section 8 of the Education Act 1998, requires that each school should have a registered Patron who shall be responsible for the appointment of an effective Board of Management. The Board of Management are the body charged with the governance of the school on behalf of the patron. In the case of S.N. Réalt na Mara, the patron is Bishop Kevin Doran, Catholic Bishop of Elphin.

Boards of Management are recognised under Section 14 and 15 of the Education Act, 1998. In appointing the Board of Management of the school, the Bishop delegates to the members certain responsibilities for the Catholic school in the parish. Such delegation carries a duty of accountability by the Board of Management to the Bishop and where appropriate to the Department of Education and Science.

The general responsibilities of a Board of Management have been prescribed in legislation. Implicit in these regulations is a responsibility for the creation of a working environment which promotes the learning and welfare of students and which facilitates the professional development and welfare of school personnel.

Boards of Management are required to comply with The Constitution of Boards of Management and Rules of Procedure which are revised periodically and agreed through discussions involving representatives of the primary management bodies, the Department of Education and Science, the INTO, Irish Primary Principals Network (IPPN) and the National Parents Council (Primary). Boards of Management are appointed for a four year term.

The current Board of Management of S.N. Réalt na Mara commenced its term of office on 1st December 2019 and will serve until 31st November 2023.

The members of the Board of Management of S.N. Réalt na Mara are:

Fr. Michael Drumm  P.P. - Chairperson
Mrs. Helen Hannon (Patron's Representative) - Treasurer
Ms. Dearbhla Gill, (Principal) - Secretary to the Board
Ms. Aveen McHugh, (Teachers' Nominee)
Mrs Mary McMorland (Parents' Nominee)
Mr. Ronan Johnson (Parents' Nominee)
Mr. Gerry Connolly (Community Representative)
Mr. Bryan Kilfeather (Community Representative)  
S.N. Réalt na Mara,
Rosses Point, Co. Sligo., F91 TR29.
Reg. CHY No. 20134389
Copyright 2021

Back to content